Ramaprabhu RP

 

From:

  • Madurai, Tamilnadu.

Background:

  • B.Sc Industrial Microbiology from Thiagarajar College, Madurai & PGDM (Operations Major) degree from KIAMS, Harihar.
  • 3 yrs of work experience as Sr. Executive in Allsec Technologies Ltd in Chennai.

Presently working with: Hindustan Unilever Ltd., Mumbai

Job Profile:  Customer service and telephonic sales

Why KIAMS?

  • I consider Kirloskar’s group as a potential business house which can steer Indian economy in the right path like Tata’s or Birla’s.
  • KIAMS used to train managers of Kirloskars and hence I decided the quality of education and knowledge which I will gain will fine tune my skills to be industry ready

 

What were the job profiles offered to you and how well prepared do you think you were to take on the roles? 

We do not have the opportunity to select one among the best offers in KIAMS, because once you crack the interview and get an offer you need to take it.

In spite of being a non-engineer I eyed for a career in supply chain. The first offer I got was from Hindustan Unilever Ltd in its supply chain.

I feel I was fully prepared to take up this career, in terms of knowledge and skills because I was focused with my choice of Industries and the profile I wanted.

 

In what way has your academic experience at KIAMS helped you, professionally and personally?  And do you think it helped you bag this plum job, why?

 

Professionally:

  • It has chiseled me into a fine manager, has thought me to think differently which makes me to stand out of the crowd and hence get noticed.
  • To summarize it has helped me to identify my potential and has provided opportunities to improve them

Personally:

  • KIAMS has given me one and an half years of peaceful life and healthy lifestyle

KIAMS Contribution:

  • It has helped me to bag this job but not to a great extent. I say so because I was not satisfied with the academic rigor in KIAMS.
  • So I used to study a lot apart from my syllabus and this helped me to bag this job

 

 

Do you think in today’s competitive world, it pays to do courses like the one you studied, why?

Yes it does and the reasons are as follows:

  • Syllabus of this course is the gist of learning & research which People in the corporate world get after years of experience. Course is worth to be studied to get an edge over others
  • Students get tagged that they are industry ready. (Are they actually? is a whole new topic of discussion, but the industry believes so)
  • Corporate world believes that a PGDM product is a one stop solution for their talent hunt
  • The product of PGDM is not specializing in a particular industry but he is a modular product which will fit into any industry. So a lot of job opportunities
  • Ideally it does give an edge for a PGDM product over other colleagues in the organization, not because it actually does but because the corporate world believes so.

 

What do you think you said or did in your placement interview that set you apart? Any suggestion for the juniors?

All of us who attended the placement interview would have given the right answer. But things which set me apart were:

  • The way I put across the right answer is the way which the interviewer expects it to be.
  • An operations student should be very analytical hence my answers were tuned so, with lot of data points and statistical figures
  • My answers were industry specific. FMCG interviewer expects a different approach for the same question posed by another interviewer from a Hospitality industry.

Words of Wisdom for the juniors:

KIAMS teaches only strategies but not the way to implement them. When a fresher comes aboard the corporate world he will not be asked to implement strategies but to work as a small cog in the organization. So you should be able to do simple operational level analysis and work at the same time keep your focus on the bigger strategies being rolled out. You need to prepare yourself for it.

 

What is the one singular/distinctive aspect that you think you brought to your job? 

Questioning the paradigms of the company and suggesting ways to tweak the long lasting processes to make it much more cost effective

 

You studied Industrial Microbiology during your under graduation. How do you link your present profession with the subject?

I have always pursued my passion. Biology was my subject of interest from school days hence I graduated in microbiology

When I started working I discovered my innate interest in management and decided to pursue a career in it.

While pursuing PGDM I had my focus on Pharmaceutical industry and FMCG since they will be the booming ones in the near future. Had I stepped into pharmaceuticals my under graduation knowledge would have helped me. In future I may shift into Pharmaceutical industry.

 

What do you think lies in store for you in the current economic times/trends?

  • Supply chain is an inevitable department in all types of goods industry. So I do have immense scope and scale of opportunities in future.
  • Starting a supply chain career in India’s no.1 FMCG Company which is renowned for its distribution adds more value to my profile
  • Hence I feel there is lot in store for me in terms of career, learning & growth in future.

 

Where do you see yourself 5 years from Day 1 at the job? 

As a senior supply chain manager in a well renowned company.

